Teleprompter / Compare / vs Teleprompter Pro

Cutvey Teleprompter vs Teleprompter Pro

Teleprompter Pro, formerly Teleprompter Premium, has a free tier, Family Sharing and a long record, with mirroring, the clean feed and most remotes in Pro at $59.99 a year or $159.99 forever. Cutvey Teleprompter includes all of those, voice follow and sessions in one $19.99 purchase for iPhone, iPad and Mac.

By Cutvey · Updated November 4, 2026

On this page

Prices and features checked November 2, 2026, on each maker's own page or its US App Store listing.

Which app this page means

"Teleprompter Premium" has been a well-known name for years. The company behind it, Teleprompter Apps Ltd, now sells it as Teleprompter Pro, and its App Store listing says "formerly known as Teleprompter Premium". The same company also sells the app simply called Teleprompter, the most-rated pure teleprompter in the US store at 34,444 ratings on November 2, 2026, and a separate Mac app, Teleprompter Pro+, whose description still uses the Premium name. Its pricing page is teleprompterpro.com.

A different company, Roadtrip Technologies, sells an unrelated app called "Teleprompter Premium for Video". This page is about Teleprompter Apps Ltd.

What each one costs

ProductPrice as printedWhere
Cutvey Teleprompter$19.99 once, in the US (local prices elsewhere). One purchase for iPhone, iPad, Mac and the Watch remote.App Store
Teleprompter (free tier)Free: unlimited scripts, video recording, cloud syncteleprompterpro.com/pricing
Teleprompter Pro$59.99 a year, or $159.99 foreverteleprompterpro.com/pricing
Teleprompter, iOS in-app purchases"Teleprompter Pro" $59.99; "Teleprompter" $159.99App Store, id941620509
Teleprompter Pro+ for Mac, in-app purchasesSeveral, from $3.99 to $159.99, as Apple lists themMac App Store, id1533078079

Pro's printed features include imports from Word, PDF, text and RTF, the advanced remote options and a clean feed out over HDMI or AirPlay. The Mac app is listed separately with in-app purchases of its own, and we could not find whether one Pro purchase covers both. Ask them if you work on both.

Against Pro forever, Cutvey Teleprompter is $140 less. Against Pro by the year, it costs less than the first year.

Side by side

Cutvey TeleprompterTeleprompter Pro
Price model$19.99 onceFree tier; Pro $59.99 a year or $159.99 forever
iPhone and iPadYesYes
MacA native Mac app, the same purchaseA separate native Mac app, Teleprompter Pro+, with its own in-app purchases
Apple Watch remoteYes, through the paired iPhoneYes
Free to useNoYes, a free tier with recording and cloud sync
Family SharingNoYes, on its listing
Voice scrollingVoice follow, on the device, includedNot stated on the pages we read
Mirroring for glassIncluded, both axesPro
Clean feed to a second displayIncluded, with its own mirror switches and a standby cardHDMI or AirPlay clean feed, Pro
RemotesKeyboards and pedals you can remap, presentation clickers, media remotes, game controllers, the Watch, a browser, Contour Shuttle on the MacBrowser and Watch on the free tier; keyboards, handheld remotes, foot pedals, game controllers, the IKAN Elite remote and other iOS devices on Pro
Several devices on one scriptUp to 8 by default, as remote, monitor or editor; an editor can fix the script liveOther iOS devices as remotes, Pro
Run ordersYesNot stated
ImportsWord, PDF text, PowerPoint speaker notes, Final Draft, Fountain, RTF, textWord, PDF, text, RTF on Pro (five imports on the free tier)
Captions.srt timed from the scroll, included.srt auto captions, Pro subscription
Edit markersPremiere Pro CSV and DaVinci Resolve EDLNot stated
Mac Call modeA strip under the built-in camera, with Hide from screen sharingA transparent window on the Mac
Elgato PrompterNot tested, so we make no claimIts site says "Fully compatible with Elgato Prompter on Mac"

What three years cost

Year oneThree years
Cutvey Teleprompter$19.99$19.99 once in total
Teleprompter Pro, yearly$59.99$179.97
Teleprompter Pro, forever$159.99$159.99
Teleprompter, free tierFreeFree

List prices from teleprompterpro.com on November 2, 2026, before tax.

Where the money goes

Teleprompter Pro's free tier is generous for reading and recording on a phone. The moment you put a phone or tablet behind glass, though, you need mirroring, and on Teleprompter Pro mirroring is a Pro feature. So is the clean feed for a display under the glass, and so are most of the remotes an operator reaches for: the foot pedal, the handheld clicker, the game controller.

That is the core of the choice. If you prompt in a rig even occasionally, you are comparing $159.99 forever with $19.99 once. If you only ever read a phone at arm's length, the free tier may be all you need, and we would rather you knew that than bought something you did not need.

One real job, both ways

A two-person crew shoots a CEO's internal address in a boardroom. The camera is behind 60/40 glass with an iPad underneath, the producer sits at the back with a MacBook, and the CEO wants to change one line after the first take.

With Cutvey Teleprompter. The iPad hosts the session and mirrors the text left to right for the glass. The producer's MacBook joins as an editor, and a spare iPhone on the camera operator's side joins as a monitor so she can see where the CEO is in the script. The producer drives the speed from the MacBook's keyboard and marks each section as a cue. After take one the CEO asks for a softer word in the closing paragraph. The producer types it from the back of the room, the read line does not move, and the iPad's glass shows the new word before take two. All of it is in the one $19.99 purchase on each person's Apple Account (one purchase if the devices are all yours), with no account to make.

With Teleprompter Pro. The iPad runs Pro, mirrored for the glass, and the producer drives it from the browser remote or from another iOS device. Pro's pages list a browser remote and other iOS devices as remotes; we found no live edit of the running script from a remote device on the pages we read on November 2, 2026, so check with them before you plan on one. If the MacBook is in play it needs the separate Mac app. Pro's clean feed over HDMI or AirPlay would put the script on a bigger rig monitor, which some rigs need.

Both crews finish the job. Cutvey Teleprompter's session keeps the producer in the chair and costs a fraction of Pro forever.

Moving from Teleprompter Pro

Export your scripts as Word, RTF or text and open them in Cutvey Teleprompter from the Files app or the library's Import. Word keeps its styles, so a bold heading stays bold, and RTF keeps bold, italic, underline, size and alignment. If you prompt from PowerPoint decks, import the .pptx itself: the speaker notes come in with a cue for every slide, so Next cue is the next slide. Then mark your cue points, set each script's speed and countdown, and they sync to your other devices through your own iCloud. Your pedal, clicker and keyboard work at once with the arrows, space and the page keys, and the learn pages let you put any button on any command.

When to choose Teleprompter Pro

  • You want to read a phone for free today and can live without mirroring and the advanced remotes.
  • Your family shares apps through Family Sharing.
  • You want the app that most broadcasters and reviewers already know, with a decade of track record and tens of thousands of ratings.
  • You use an Elgato Prompter with a Mac and want a fit its maker has stated.
  • You use an IKAN Elite remote.

Where Cutvey Teleprompter falls short

  • No free tier. It is locked until you buy it once or sign in with Cutvey.
  • No Family Sharing. Each Apple Account buys its own copy.
  • No track record yet. Version 1.0 has no ratings; Teleprompter Pro has tens of thousands.
  • No Elgato claim. We have not tested Cutvey Teleprompter on an Elgato Prompter. The Mac's External Feed window goes to any second display, which is how such a screen is usually driven, but we will not say it works until we have tried it.
  • No AirPlay claim. Cutvey sends a clean feed to a connected external display; we have not verified AirPlay for it.
  • No recording on the Mac. Camera recording is on iPhone and iPad.
What you get in the one purchase
  • Mirroring on both axes, and a clean feed with its own mirror switches.
  • Voice follow on the device, in the script's own language.
  • Every remote: keys and pedals you can remap, presentation clickers, media remotes, game controllers, the Watch, any browser on your network and, on the Mac, a Contour ShuttlePro v2 or ShuttleXpress.
  • Sessions of up to eight devices by default, with Make Host to hand the session to another device mid-take.
  • Run orders, cues with their own speed, a countdown and quick edits at reading size.
  • Captions and edit markers after the run.
  • A native Mac app with Call mode and Hide from screen sharing (test it on a call first).

Set up an iPad or a second display in a glass rig.

Other comparisons

Questions people ask

Is Teleprompter Pro the same as Teleprompter Premium?

Yes. Teleprompter Apps Ltd's App Store listing calls Teleprompter Pro "formerly known as Teleprompter Premium". It is a different app from Roadtrip Technologies' "Teleprompter Premium for Video".

Is there a one-time teleprompter app for iPad and Mac?

Cutvey Teleprompter is $19.99 once and the purchase covers iPhone, iPad and a native Mac app on the same Apple Account. Teleprompter Pro also sells a one-time "forever" option, and Prompt+ sells a one-time purchase too; their prices are in the tables above.

Does Cutvey Teleprompter mirror for a beam splitter?

Yes, on both axes, as separate switches, and a connected display or the Mac's External Feed window gets a clean feed with mirror switches of its own. It is included in the one purchase.