Teleprompter / Compare / Best teleprompter apps

Best teleprompter apps

For presenters and shooters on iPhone, iPad and Mac, Cutvey Teleprompter is our pick: $19.99 once for every Apple device, with mirroring, voice follow, the Watch remote and sessions included. Rivals win on free tiers, hands-free voice start, Windows and Android, and editing, and we say which below.

Nine teleprompter apps and one piece of hardware, with prices as printed on November 2, 2026.

By Cutvey · Updated November 4, 2026

On this page

Prices and features checked November 2, 2026, on each maker's own page or its US App Store listing. We make Cutvey Teleprompter, so read our picks with that in mind: every rival fact below is from the maker's own page or listing, and every place a rival does better is said plainly.

Our picks, by the job

JobOur pickWhy
Presenting or shooting on Apple devicesCutvey Teleprompter$19.99 once for iPhone, iPad, Mac and the Watch remote, with mirroring, voice follow, sessions and every remote included
A free prompter on a phoneTeleprompter (Teleprompter Apps Ltd), free tierUnlimited scripts, recording and cloud sync for free
Voice that starts and stops on its ownPromptSmartVoiceTrack starts, stops and holds your place
Android, Windows or the webTeleprompter.com or SpeakflowBoth run beyond Apple devices
Script to posted video in one appBIGVU or Teleprompter.comRecording, editing, captions and posting
A desk prompter with no tabletElgato PrompterThe screen and glass in one box
Recording on the Mac itselfPower PrompterA Mac app that records
A short script, freePrompt+Free up to 750 characters

What they cost

AppMakerPrice as printed
Cutvey TeleprompterCutvey LLC$19.99 once (US); included per seat in Cutvey Solo, Pro and Studio
PromptSmart Pro / PromptSmart+Belleau Technologies$29.99 app; PromptSmart+ $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year and up
Teleprompter / Teleprompter ProTeleprompter Apps LtdFree tier; Pro $59.99 a year or $159.99 forever
Teleprompter.comTeleprompter LLCFree tier; Pro $19.99 a month, or $7.5 a month billed yearly; Max and Team from $24.99 a month billed yearly
BIGVUBIGVUFree tier; $12 to $239 a month
Elgato PrompterCorsair$299.99 hardware; Camera Hub software free
Prompt+Norton FiveFree up to 750 characters; $19.99 once
Teleprompter for VideoNorton Five$8.99 to $9.99 a month, or $29.99 to $44.99 a year
SpeakflowCG3 MediaFree (10 minutes of voice scrolling a month); Plus $15 a month and Studio $99 a month, billed yearly
Power PrompterSuborbital Softworks$49.99 on the Mac App Store; a free Express edition
CaptionsCaptions, LLCFrom $9.99 a month or $64.99 a year; a teleprompter inside a video editor

Side by side

The app-store leaders

Cutvey TeleprompterPromptSmartTeleprompter ProTeleprompter.comBIGVU
iPhone and iPadYesYesYesYesYes
MacNative, same purchaseiPad app; Studio Edition on PromptSmart+Separate Mac appYesiPad app
Apple WatchYesNoYesYesNo
Windows, Android, webBrowser remote onlyYes (PromptSmart+)Browser remoteAndroid, webAndroid, web
Voice scrollingTrims speed, on the deviceStarts and stopsNot statedPauses and resumesNot confirmed
MirroringIncludedYesProProNot stated
Records videoiPhone and iPadYesYesYesYes
Several devices on one scriptUp to 8Remote app, Control RoomRemotes, ProRemote deviceNot stated
Edit markers for the cutPremiere Pro and ResolveNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Free to useNoLiteYesYesYes
Hardware, the same-price rival and the Mac and browser picks
Cutvey TeleprompterElgato PrompterPrompt+SpeakflowPower Prompter
iPhone and iPadYesNoYesYesNo
MacNative, same purchaseYesYesYesNative
Apple WatchYesNoNoNoNo
Windows, Android, webBrowser remote onlyWindows, AndroidNoWindows, webNo
Voice scrollingTrims speed, on the deviceVoice Sync, needs RTX 2060 or M1YesFlow ModeNot stated
MirroringIncludedBuilt-in glassYesNot statedYes
Records videoiPhone and iPadNoNot mentionedYesOn the Mac
Several devices on one scriptUp to 8Stream DeckRemote deviceRemote synciPhone remote
Edit markers for the cutPremiere Pro and ResolveNoNot statedNot statedNot stated
Free to useNon/aShort scriptsYesExpress

Choose in four questions

  1. Which devices will hold the script? If every one of them is an iPhone, iPad or Mac, the field narrows to apps that do all three well. If anyone reads on Windows or Android, start with Teleprompter.com, PromptSmart+ or Speakflow.
  2. Will you read behind glass? Then mirroring and a clean feed to the display under the glass matter. Check whether they are in the price or in a paid tier. In Cutvey Teleprompter they are in the one purchase; on Teleprompter Pro and Teleprompter.com they are paid features.
  3. Who else is in the room? A presenter alone needs a remote at most. A crew wants a monitor for the camera operator, a producer who can fix a line without walking over, and a remote that is not the presenter's hand. That is what Cutvey's sessions are for.
  4. What happens after the take? If the same app should edit and post, look at BIGVU, Teleprompter.com or Captions. If you already edit in Premiere Pro, DaVinci Resolve, Final Cut Pro or CapCut, you want clean takes and files for the timeline.

Then look at how you want to pay. A subscription makes sense when it buys a service you use every month. A prompter you open on shoot days is easier to own outright.

Why we rank Cutvey Teleprompter first for Apple devices

Most people who search for a teleprompter app own an iPhone, often an iPad, and a Mac. On that set of devices no other app we looked at gives you this much for one price:

  • Every Apple screen. iPhone, iPad and a native Mac app on one $19.99 purchase, with the Apple Watch remote. Most rivals either charge again for the Mac or run their iPad app there.
  • Nothing held back. Mirroring, the clean feed, voice follow and every remote are in the purchase. On several rivals each of those is a paid tier.
  • A crew in your pocket. Up to eight devices by default on one script, as remote, monitor or editor, and a host that can hand the session over mid-take.
  • The edit. Captions in the script's own words and markers for Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve.
  • Privacy. No account, no AI, voice follow on the device, scripts in your own iCloud.

Where others win

  • Free use. Teleprompter Apps Ltd's free tier, PromptSmart Lite, Prompt+ for short scripts, Speakflow and BIGVU can all be used without paying. Cutvey Teleprompter cannot.
  • Hands-free start. PromptSmart, Teleprompter.com and Speakflow all say their voice features pause and resume the scroll. Ours trims the speed once you press play.
  • Beyond Apple. Teleprompter.com, PromptSmart+, Speakflow and Elgato cover Windows or Android or both.
  • Editing. BIGVU, Teleprompter.com, Teleprompter for Video and Captions edit and caption after the take.
  • Internet collaboration. Speakflow, Teleprompter.com Team and PromptSmart+ Team work across the internet. Cutvey's sessions run on your local network.
  • Track record. The leaders have between 11,000 and 36,000 US ratings each. Version 1.0 of ours has none yet.

The others, in brief

PromptSmart

The name most people link with voice scrolling. VoiceTrack starts, stops and holds your place, and PromptSmart+ adds Windows, Android and a web control room. Full comparison.

Teleprompter Pro, formerly Teleprompter Premium

The most-rated pure teleprompter, with a real free tier, Family Sharing and a stated Elgato Prompter fit on the Mac. Mirroring, the clean feed and most remotes are Pro. Full comparison.

Teleprompter.com

A subscription studio across iOS, Android, Mac, web and Watch that also edits, captions, streams and rephrases lines. Full comparison.

BIGVU

A video-marketing suite with a prompter inside, plus AI avatars, voice cloning and posting. Full comparison.

Elgato Prompter

Hardware: a 9-inch screen and 70/30 glass in one box at $299.99, driven over USB-C from a Windows, Mac or Android computer, with Camera Hub software and a Stream Deck plugin. Its Voice Sync needs an NVIDIA RTX 2060 or newer, or Apple M1 or newer. Choose it if you want a desk prompter with no tablet in the rig. Cutvey Teleprompter is software; we have not tested it on an Elgato Prompter and make no claim that it fits.

Prompt+

The rival at our own price, $19.99 once, with a free tier for short scripts and support for older systems. Full comparison.

Speakflow

Browser-first, with apps for Mac, Windows, iPhone and iPad, Flow Mode voice scrolling, real-time collaboration, an overlay for Zoom and Meet, and an API. Choose it if a distributed team writes in the browser and presenters read on their own laptops.

Teleprompter for Video

Norton Five's subscription recorder, with 15,277 US ratings, an Apple Watch app, editing, captions from the recording's timings and Android. Choose it if you mostly record yourself on a phone and want edits in the same app.

Power Prompter

A native Mac prompter at $49.99 that records on the Mac, drives several displays and takes an iPhone remote. Choose it if you only ever prompt and record on one Mac in a studio.

Captions

A subscription AI video editor with a teleprompter for recording in the app. Choose it if the edit is the product and the prompter is a convenience.

How we checked

We read each maker's own pricing page and its US App Store listing on November 2, 2026, and took rating counts from Apple's public lookup the same day. "Not stated" means we found nothing either way on those pages. We describe our own app from its source code. If something here is out of date, tell us and we will correct it.

More

Questions people ask

What is the best teleprompter app for iPhone and iPad?

For presenting and shooting on Apple devices we rank Cutvey Teleprompter first: $19.99 once for iPhone, iPad, Mac and the Watch, with mirroring, voice follow, recording and sessions included. If you need a free app, Teleprompter Apps Ltd's free tier is the strongest; if you need voice that starts and stops on its own, PromptSmart.

Which teleprompter apps have no subscription?

Cutvey Teleprompter ($19.99 once), Prompt+ (one in-app purchase), Teleprompter Pro's forever option, Power Prompter on the Mac and PromptSmart Pro's up-front price, which has optional subscriptions beside it. The prices, as printed on November 2, 2026, are in the table above.

Which teleprompter app works on Windows or Android?

Teleprompter.com, PromptSmart+ and Speakflow, and Elgato's Camera Hub with its Prompter hardware. Cutvey Teleprompter runs on Apple devices; any browser can drive it as a remote.